Info

Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers

Interviews with members of Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers and those involved in RMFW conferences, workshops and other writing-related events. Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers is a non-profit, volunteer-run organization dedicated to supporting, encouraging, and educating writers seeking publication in commercial fiction.
RSS Feed
2020
March
February
January


2019
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2018
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August
July
June


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: July, 2015
Jul 25, 2015

In this episode, we talk with Susan Spann, recently announced as the 2015 Writer of the Year for Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Susan talks about her switch from writing unpublished historical fiction to published mysteries, about the moment of inspiration for the Shinobi Mystery series, her writing process and the Twitter hit #publaw.

 

Show Notes:

Susan Spann: www.susanspann.com

Donna Andrews: www.donnaandrews.com

Kerry Schafer: www.kerryschafer.com

Janet Lane: www.janetlane.net

James Rollins: jamesrollins.com

Lisa McCann: www.theunwantedsseries.com

 

Intro music courtesy of Moby Gratis

Bumpers and Outro music courtesy of Dan-O-Songs

For suggestions about podcast content or to comment on the show, email podcast@rmfw.org. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Host Mark Stevens:  www.writermarkstevens.com

Jul 18, 2015

In this episode, we talk with book cover designer Kirk Douponce, who has produced over 1,000 covers for publishers and writers in his career. He's also one of the workshop presenters at the 2015 Colorado Gold Conference, to be held in September in Denver, Colorado. Kirk's workshop is titled, "Book Cover Design--Your Most Important Marketing Tool." We also chat with Susie Brooks, chair of Colorado Gold, and get an update on registrations for the conference.

 

Show Notes:

Kirk Douponce: www.dogeareddesign.com

Ronie Kendig: roniekendig.com

Bonnie Calhoun: bonniescalhoun.com

Stephen Lawhead: www.stephenlawhead.com

Mike Duran: mikeduran.com

Julie Dillon: www.juliedillonart.com

Enclave Publishing: www.enclavepublishing.com

Kathryn Lloyd--The Desk: www.thedeskonline.com/who.html

Kerry Nietz: www.nietz.com/AVIS.htm

 

Intro music courtesy of Moby Gratis

Bumpers and Outro music courtesy of Dan-O-Songs

For suggestions about podcast content or to comment on the show, email podcast@rmfw.org. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Host Mark Stevens:  www.writermarkstevens.com

Jul 7, 2015

In this episode, we talk with speculative fiction writer Chris Mandeville. In addition to recently publishing her first novel, Seeds: a post-apocalyptic adventure, Chris will teach a four-hour master class at the Colorado Gold Conference in September. The class is "Everything You Need To Know to Write a Novel." Chris talks about her writing process, her inspirations and what she'll cover in the class.

 

Show Notes:

Chris Mandeville: www.chrismandeville.com

Neil Gaiman: www.neilgaiman.com

John Hart: www.johnhartfiction.com/?page id=18

Lucia St. Clair Robson: www.luciastclairrobson.com

Jeffery Deaver:  www.jefferydeaver.com

Debra Dixon--Goal, Motivation, Conflict: www.debradixon.com

 

Intro music courtesy of Moby Gratis

Outro music courtesy of Dan-O-Songs

For suggestions about podcast content or to comment on the show, email podcast@rmfw.org. Also feel free to leave a comment about the podcast on iTunes or your favorite podcast provider.

Host Mark Stevens:  www.writermarkstevens.com

 

1