Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers

The podcast feed from Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. Authors with new books. Experts on editing, marketing, agent queries, managing your writing career. Traditional publishing. Independent publishing. All aspects of writing fiction. 

May 20, 2021

On the podcast this time, an interview with the three nominees for 2021 Writer of the Year: L.R. Braden, Sue Hinkin, and Cindi Myers.


L.R. Braden is the bestselling author of the Magicsmith urban fantasy series. Her debut novel, A Drop of Magic, came out in July of 2019. By July 2020, she had four books and three audiobooks published in the Magicsmith series, had achieved #1 bestseller status on several Amazon lists, and been honored with multiple awards, including the RMFW Pen Award for new authors, the Eric Hoffer Book Award for Sci-fi/Fantasy, the First Horizon Award for outstanding debut authors, and the Imadjinn Award for Best Urban Fantasy Novel.

Originally from Chicago, Sue Hinkin is a former television news photographer, NBC-TV Art Department manager, as well as a college teacher and administrator. A Cinematography graduate of the American Film Institute in Los Angeles, she now lives in Littleton, Colorado where she is a new grandmother of twin girls. Hinkin writes the Beatrice Middleton & Lucy Vega thriller series. Her fourth installment, The Mermaid Broker, was published April 1st 2021 to strong reviews.

Cindi Myers became one of the most popular people in eighth grade when she and her best friend wrote a torrid historical romance and passed the manuscript around among friends.

Fame was short-lived, alas; the English teacher confiscated the manuscript and suggested they should spend more time brushing up on grammar and spelling. Since then, Cindi has written more than 100 published novels. Over 1 million copies of her books have been sold around the world, and her books have been translated into more than a dozen languages, and regularly appear on Publisher’s Weekly’s best seller lists. Cindi is a past RITA finalist, a Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers Writer of the Year (2005) and winner of the Colorado Book Award for genre fiction (2013).

Cindi has been a member of RMFW since 2001, regularly presents at conference, and is grateful to have found ‘her tribe’ at RMFW.

Cindi Myers:

Sue Hinkin:

L.R. Braden:

Intro music by Moby

Outro by Dan-o-Songs